As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. Thank You for Your support!

Castle Perilous Book Series Review (2021)

John Dechancie

Castle Perilous is a fantasy adventure fiction book series by author John Dechancie in which he has written about a magical world where there are no limits to the potential of magic users. In the nine books that are all in the series,

Parallel Universes

John writes about a castle that holds the doors between parallel universes and other worlds unlike any anyone has ever seen. The story is definitely an interesting one to read as you can find out from this book review of Castle Perilous, but it does lack depth and passion as you never get super into a long adventure where things get super serious.

Castle Perilous Book Series

  • Page 1
  • Page 2

Photo Title Rating Length Buy
Castle Perilous 8.32/10 212 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Castle for Rent 8.36/10 200 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Castle Kidnapped 8.24/10 216 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Castle War! 8.32/10 240 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Castle Murders 8.26/10 232 Pages Check Price On Amazon

Photo Title Rating Length Buy
Castle Dreams 8.12/10 212 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Castle Spellbound 8.24/10 227 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Bride of the Castle 8.08/10 176 Pages Check Price On Amazon
The Pirates of Perilous 8.48/10 394 Pages Check Price On Amazon

Humor and Mysteries

On the other hand, there is a lot of humor, a lot of wonders and mysteries with a bit of suspense that will keep you going, and a lot of fun and magic that will definitely make this a great and interesting read. You can learn more about the series in our selection of the best John Dechancie books!

Permanent Guests

In the whole series, there is the Castle Perilous, a magical castle that houses 144.000 doors or portals to other planets, parallel worlds, dimensions, and so on. There are people who from time to time stumble into the castle, but unlike other stories where they get chased out of it or killed, the ones who stumble into this castle remain permanent guests who are well accommodated as they are offered the best food and servants to be at their service.

Vast Imagination

Those who live in the castle often tend to explore the other worlds which is one of the best parts of the series, you get to read about the vast imagination of this author and see what kind of other worlds he creates.

Gene, Snowclaw, and Linda

One of those doors happens to lead a portal straight to Earth and a few characters who you get to meet first in this Castle Perilous book review will take a little trip to Earth. Some of the fascinating characters that are presented in these series are Gene, Snowclaw, and Linda.

They too stumble inside the walls in the castle, but when they do they discover that the castle is actually under siege and in danger by the rejected and abandoned ex-lover of the castle’s current owner. The stories that this castle can tell are definitely something that will make sure you are never bored as you read every single of the nine books inside this series.

Magical Adventures

It all starts with the novel named Castle Perilous which was released in 1988. After a series of releasing other novels, the author actually stopped and the latest novel, The Pirates of Perilous, was released in 2015, 10 years after its prequel Bridge of the Castle.

Hopefully, this book review of Castle Perilous has managed to introduce you to what kind of adventure fantasy story you can expect in each of the novels in the series. If you are a fan of fun and exciting fantasy worlds filled with magical adventures, then this series will be worth your time.

Robert Hazley
Robert Hazley
Robert is a science fiction and fantasy geek. (He is also the best looking Ereads writer!) Besides reading and writing, he enjoys sports, cosplay, and good food (don't we all?). Currently works as an accountant (would you believe that?)