As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. Thank You for Your support!

MaddAddam Book Series Review (2021)

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood’s brilliant writing can be yet again seen in this science fiction and post-apocalyptic themed trilogy of hers called MaddAddam.

MaddAddam Trilogy

It tells the story of a world that is almost destroyed by a horrible plague that has managed to kill a huge portion of the population. It is also a story of love, passion, adventure, and mystery. Other exceptionally endearing works from Margaret can be found in our selection of the best Margaret Atwood books.

MaddAddam Book Series

Photo Title Rating Length Buy
Oryx and Crake 8.62/10 389 Pages Check Price On Amazon
The Year of the Flood 8.72/10 431 Pages Check Price On Amazon
MaddAddam 8.86/10 394 Pages Check Price On Amazon

Books to Remember

For the fans of science fiction stories and stories filled with adventures in an unlivable world such as this one, these three books by Margaret will definitely prove as reads to remember. Having been considered some of the best post-apocalyptic books out there, you get to find out just what to expect in them from our MaddAddam book series review.

Oryx and Crake

The story begins in the first book, Oryx and Crake, which sets in motion the events that add to the excitement of the books. In this story, you find out everything about this unlivable world where only a few survivors have managed to come on top but nothing is as it was and there is still danger around every corner.

You meet Jimmy, a so-called Snowman for that world as he struggles with remaining alive and he fears that he may be the last remaining human, imagine the fear that brings.

Looking for Answers

To add more to Jimmy’s troubles, he had just lost the love of his life Oryx and his best friend Crake after which he sets on another journey, to find answers he had been long seeking for and ones that he feels completely lost without. This is where the interesting journey begins and where things start to become more thrilling.

The Year of the Flood

In the second book, The Year of the Flood, Margaret writes the events that continue where Oryx and Crake left off. Things are moving at a rapid rate here and the world seems to be becoming more and more unstable in every aspect.

You also get to meet a whole lot of new and interesting characters in this second book of the trilogy like Adam One, the leader of the God’s Gardeners. They are a religion that has the goal to meld together science and religion to become as one, and maybe more importantly, to preserve as much animal and plant life as they can as it is crucial if the planet is to survive.

Gene-Spliced Creatures

This world quickly turns into something unnatural and weird as strange gene-spliced creatures start multiplying super rapidly, blends between lions and lambs, pigs with human brain tissue, sheep with human hair, all sorts of horribly disgusting life forms start becoming more and more populated in this horrible post-apocalyptic world. The second book will definitely be something to remember as you can see from this MaddAddam book series review.


And in the third book of this truly thrilling trilogy, also called MaddAddam, the story finally comes to an end but not before a few interesting and thrilling events occur. You read about the characters you met in the previous books as all of them are facing the attacks that are about to come from giant Pigoons and evil Painballers.

The Last Story

Now, the green-eyed Crakers – a bioengineered species created to replace the dead humans, Jimmy the snowman, Toby the expert in mushrooms and bees, and countless other characters prepare to tell you the last story of the amazing MaddAddam trilogy by Margaret Atwood. If you like her work, you might want to take a look at our The Handmaid’s Tale book series review. This book series is without a doubt one of the best feminist books.


Definitely give these books a try if you are a fan of Margaret, a science fiction lover, or a true enthusiast of post-apocalyptic stories. If you find what you see in this MaddAddam book series review interesting, then you are definitely going to love the story in these books.

Robert Hazley
Robert Hazley
Robert is a science fiction and fantasy geek. (He is also the best looking Ereads writer!) Besides reading and writing, he enjoys sports, cosplay, and good food (don't we all?). Currently works as an accountant (would you believe that?)