As Amazon Associates we earn from qualifying purchases. Thank You for Your support!

3 Best Stephen Goldin Books (2021)

Best Stephen Goldin Books ReviewBio

Goldin was born on the 28th of February, 1947, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States of America. Goldin is an American science fiction and fantasy writer. 


Stephen received his Bachelor’s degree in Astronomy from UCLA. He, then, as a graduate, began working for the United States Navy as a civilian space scientist prior to starting his full-time career as an author.

Best Stephen Goldin Books

Photo Title Rating Length Buy
Jade Darcy and the Affair of Honor 8.74/10 256 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Shrine of the Desert Mage 8.52/10 244 Pages Check Price On Amazon
Tsar Wars 7.82/10 252 Pages Check Price On Amazon


Additionally, as a writer and editor, Goldin worked for the San Francisco Ball. He designed and wrote manuals for a sizeable array of computer games. He even co-taught a writing class at the California State University at Northridge.

As a member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Goldin has worked as an editor for the ‘SFWA’ bulletin, even going so far as to hold a prestigious position in the organization – he was the association’s western regional director.

Personal Life

As far as personal life goes, Goldin has been married on two occasions. His first marriage was with Kathleen Sky, and their marriage lasted from 1972 to 1982, while the second was to Mary Mason, it has lasted since 1987, and they’re still going strong. Additionally, they have worked, though on separate occasions, with Goldin on books as co-authors.

With that all said, we can now take a look at what makes everyone like Goldin so much, and what exactly are the best Goldin books.

The Rehumanization of Jade Darcy Book Series


Invigorating Science Fiction

All three of our entries today will be series written by Golden. Our first here is The Rehumanization of Jade Darcy. It features two books, the first being Jade Darcy and the Affair of Honor, the second Jade Darcy and the Zen Pirates. Jade Darcy and the Affair of Honor was published in the year of 1988. Worth noting is that it was the first collaboration with his current wife Mary Mason that created one of the best Goldin book series.

It is a brilliant example of how invigorating and interesting Science Fiction was during the ‘80s. Our main character is Jade Darcy, as the title implies, and she is a CARC. CARC means Computer Augmented Reflex Commando.


She isn’t herself, per se, and she has gone on to hide on the backwater planet named Cablans. Jade is also the only human on this planet. We see Jade tenaciously deal with all of her problems – she doesn’t whine, pity herself or wallow, but instead takes care of what is in front of her. Jade is through and through a proper example of writing female sci-fi characters, especially protagonists.

Jade Darcy and the Zen Pirates

Jane Darcy and the Zen Pirates was published about two years after the success that was Jade Darcy and the Affair of Honor, in 1990. The sequel has everything that one might want from a follow-up to any book. Endlessly gripping, amazing in all the ways that it attempts, we follow female mercenary Jade.

Refusing to Feel

Jade, here, is refusing to feel any kind of man-made emotion out of angst and dread that the military of Earth will be able to find her. We learn that she was, at one point, a part of the same branch of Earth military, though she was deserted after they violently raped her on a distant planet.

Jade’s character is one of the legends. Her story can fill the slots of several TV shows. Rightfully one of the best Stephen Goldin novels!

Parsina Book Saga


This series is a solo work, as he didn’t collaborate with neither wife. It features one of the best-rated Goldin books:

Shrine of the Desert Mage

Shrine of the Desert Mage was published in the year of 1988. It is a very enjoyable book. It starts out as a tantalizing journey through an Arabic setting, with more desert landscapes and magical characters than one can admit to. Imagery in these points of the story make for it to be as picturesque as this goes for all of the books in the series.

They are truly captivating. The story sees a blundering fool-thief releasing the deva king, Aeshma, from his eon-long imprisonment in an urn. Aeshma now vows to destroy the land. The only ones willing to even attempt to stop him are storyteller Jafar, his daughter Selima, and Prince Ahmad. Truly amazing work, maybe even the best Goldin novel.

The Storyteller and the Jann

Attempting, still, to imprison and stop the insidious force that is Aeshma, Jafar and his companions go on a frightful journey to gather the Crystal of Oromasd –, it might be their only chance to stop the demon heathen that is

Still on their journey for the Crystal of Oromasd, Jafar, Selima, and Ahmad, must go to the holy city named Ravan. The city, however, hosts the sinister ruler named Shammara, as he attempts to make an unholy union so as to aid Aeshma in his dastardly

Treachery of the Demon

The final piece of the Crystal of Oromasd is insight. They are on the steps of Mount Denavan, but they must first go through the ominous island named the City of Faces, along with the demon-dragon guarding the 4th piece. Will the heroes succeed and put an end to Aeshma, the pages wind and tell us… If we listed Stephen Goldin’s books ranked, this would be somewhere on the top of Goldin’s books. Perhaps even Goldin’s best book!

Agents of ISIS Book Series


Huge Series

The Agents of Isis series is also the great author’s longest series, featuring an amazing ten books which some of them are the best-selling books by Goldin. The series is comprised of the following books:

  1. Tsar Wars
  2. Treacherous Moon
  3. Robot Mountain
  4. Sanctuary Planet
  5. Stellar Revolution
  6. Purgatory Plot
  7. Traitors’ World
  8. Counterfeit Stars
  9. Outworld Invaders
  10. Galactic Collapse

Grand Space Opera

To be as direct as possible, the series is actually a one a kind grand space opera, a decalogy. The story, throughout all of the books, sees humanity as scattered between the stars and the nethermost regions of galaxies, of space, as they inhabit hundreds of worlds.

The Empire is the single force capable of maintaining order across the cosmos. If it weren’t in power, the conflicts between the worlds would cast the universe into a demonic chaos, bringing death to trillions of souls.


Now, however, the Tsar is in a coma – has been for five years. Is there anyone capable to bring order and maintain the frail, fragile piece that barely keeps everything together.

Some of Stephen Goldin’s best books that will surely amaze readers are the following few – the series named Star Trek Adventures, The Last Ghost, and When There’s No Man Around. That’s all from our Stephen Goldin book reviews and we hope that now you have a better picture of what these most popular books by Goldin are about.

Robert Hazley
Robert Hazley
Robert is a science fiction and fantasy geek. (He is also the best looking Ereads writer!) Besides reading and writing, he enjoys sports, cosplay, and good food (don't we all?). Currently works as an accountant (would you believe that?)